Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What do these spark plugs say?

Hi all,

I am in the midst of replacing my valve cover gasket and have got as far as removing the plugs from the e36 m3. I just got the car a month ago, and only history of change of plugs is around 22,500 miles or 36,000kms.

See below pics of all 6 plugs, plug 2 & 4 had around 8-10 drops of oil on the outside, plugs were dry on the electrodes.

Do I need to change them, as plugs are supposed to be changed every 100,000kms if I am not mistaken, and what do these plugs say, seems to me "Dry Fouling" as per internet sites on reading plugs, but I am not an expert.

Last edited by vanhack; 02-08-2012, 12:05 AM.
    '94 Avus Blue e36 m3
    2007 LWB Prado. 2" IVD lift.GPS 276C.Bashplate.Rear Pintle Hook

1. There are only some types of iridium plugs which should be changed every 50-60k km. (Denso for instance)
    2. The regular plugs should be changed every 20-40k (depends on petrol quality).

I'd better prefer to change yours. You can only guess when they were changed last time. Also keep in your mind that bad plugs will affect ignition coils.

Comment

Originally posted by insatiable13 View Post
      1. There are only some types of iridium plugs which should be changed every 50-60k km. (Denso for instance)
      2. The regular plugs should be changed every 20-40k (depends on petrol quality).

I'd better prefer to change yours. You can only guess when they were changed last time. Also keep in your mind that bad plugs will affect ignition coils.

Thanks for the advice, bought some from Central Motors (bosch agent), almost half the price as AGMC!
      '94 Avus Blue e36 m3

Comment

Plugs look fine albeit some carbon residue, my advice is get your injectors removed and cleaned. And replace the fuel filter while your at it, its cheap. And the oil is from the plug compartment gaskets, nothing new.
        sigpic5/94' E36 318iS 5-spd